Alaska Free License Plate Lookup
Whether you are buying from a local dealer in Alaska, private seller or eyeing a vehicle from an online auction website, it is a big plus if you know what you are buying before you hand over your money or sign any paperwork for the vehicle.
VinCheck.info offers free license plate lookup that will reveal past ownership, title information, liens, odometer reading and salvage records. Search license plates registered in the state of Alaska:
If you will be needing further investigation, you can also obtain public records associated with the plate by getting in touch with the Alaska DMV, either in person, online, snail mail or via phone call.
You can also search public records resource utilities such as SearchQuarry for a small fee. SearchQuarry paid members can look up the identity of the car’s owner, vehicle information, VIN, and safety and recall information for federally approved purposes.
Alaska License Plates & Placards
Alaska license plates are provided when you register your vehicle for the first time. Anybody working or residing in Alaska must apply for registration within 10 days of entering the state or taking a job within the state. On the other hand, visitors are allowed to drive their vehicles for up to 60 days with current out-of-state car registration. You may be required to provide the vehicle’s Title when registering your vehicle. The Division of Motor Vehicles under the Alaska Department of Administration issues license plate numbers with a 3-letter, 3-numeric serial format. Most less-populous states follow this format or its variants and vehicle owners are required to display 2 plates, one on the front and one on the rear.
In Alaska, If one or more of your plates has been lost or damaged, you can apply apply for duplicate plates or tabs.
Types of Alaska License Plates
There are seven (7) types of plates being issued in the state of Alaska. Please be aware of the requirements for each style of plate.
Transferring of License Plates in Alaska
Generally, you can transfer license plates between two vehicles that are registered to you. For a vehicle that has just been purchased, you may request a plate transfer when you apply for title and/or registration in your name. Please visit Transferring Plates to Another Vehicle for more information.
Titling Requirements and Procedure in Alaska
Alaska residents are required to transfer the vehicle into their names within 30 days of the date of purchase by getting an Alaska title.
If the vehicle was purchased from a dealer, Alaska law requires the dealer to apply for the title transfer to the purchaser’s name. A 60-day temporary permit is usually issued by the dealer to allow the buyer to drive the vehicle while the title transfer is being processed.
According to Alaska law, a person must first obtain a title in their name before they can sell a vehicle they own. If the title is lost, stolen or damaged, the owner must first obtain a duplicate title in their name before they can sell the vehicle. For more information about Alaska vehicle titling laws and policies, visit the Alaska DMV near you.
More Resources for Alaska Drivers:
- Alaska Driver License, Permit, and State ID
- Alaska Vehicle Registration
- Renewing/Transferring of License Plates in Alaska
- Alaska Vehicle Titling Information
- Alaska Vehicle Registration Cost Calculator
- Alaska Driver Manuals
Buying a used car in Alaska? Don’t make a costly mistake. Run a Free License Plate Lookup for your Alaska-registered vehicle!
- Check for accidents. Every year, approximately 6.0 million automobile accidents are reported by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
- Check for title brands. Flood, hail-damage, and salvage titles are examples of critical title brands.
- Check for special purpose designations, including taxi-use, rental-use, or police-use.
- Check for thefts. Lookup a VIN to check for an active theft or previously recovered theft record.
Run a Free Alaska License Plate Lookup to uncover the full-story of your Alaska-registered vehicle.