Georgia Free License Plate Lookup
When purchasing a used vehicle in Georgia, you can do a license plate search to check the vehicle’s history such as accident reports or finding out the registered owner of the vehicle. This will help to protect you against used car fraud.
VinCheck.info offers free license plate lookup that will reveal past ownership, title information, liens, odometer reading and salvage records. Search license plates registered in the state of Georgia:
Georgia License Plates & Placards
Vehicles in Georgia must be registered and have license plates issued by the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR) county tag offices in order to drive them legally on public roads.
You have 30 days from the purchase or transfer date to register and obtain a license plate or to transfer your existing Georgia license plate from a vehicle you no longer own, to the new vehicle. To be able to transfer the license plate, both vehicles must require the same category license plate.
All lost or stolen license plates and/or decals should be reported to law enforcement. Replacement license plates can be applied for at your County Tag Office.
Types of Georgia License Plates
See License Plates Sample for the complete list of plates available.
- Alternative Fuel
- Georgia Colleges and State Universities
- Military Veteran
- National Guard and US Reserve
- Special Interest
Specialty and Prestige (personal/vanity) license plates are only allowed on private passenger vehicles. Prestige license plates can be applied for at your County Tag Office. Check and see if the Prestige License Plate you want is available.
Transferring of License Plates in Georgia
You can transfer a license plate from one car to another. If you purchase the vehicle from a dealer, the dealer can transfer the license plate. If you purchase from an individual, visit your County Tag Office within 30 days of purchasing or acquiring a new vehicle.
Titling Requirements and Procedure in Georgia
Georgia law requires that motor vehicle operated on the roads and highways in the State of Georgia be titled and registered with the GA Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). Registrations are handled in the county where the vehicle owner resides. Registration and titling procedure is completed at the same time.
Georgia residents have seven days from the date of purchase to register their vehicle at the County Tag Office where the owner lives. New residents must register their vehicle within 30 days of establishing residency in the state.
When purchasing a new or used car from a dealership, the owner will be required to complete the registration process since only the application for vehicle’s title will be handled by the dealership.
More Resources for Georgia Drivers:
- Georgia License, ID and Permit Types
- Georgia Vehicle Registration
- Renewal of License Plates in Georgia
- Georgia Motor Vehicle Titles and Registration Information
- Georgia Title Ad Valorem Tax Calculator
- Georgia Drivers Manual
Buying a used car in Georgia? Don’t make a costly mistake. Run a Free License Plate Lookup for your Georgia -registered vehicle!
- Check for accidents. Every year, approximately 6.0 million automobile accidents are reported by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
- Check for title brands. Flood, hail-damage, and salvage titles are examples of critical title brands.
- Check for special purpose designations, including taxi-use, rental-use, or police-use.
- Check for thefts. Lookup a VIN to check for an active theft or previously recovered theft record.
Run a Free Georgia License Plate Lookup to uncover the full-story of your Georgia-registered vehicle.