Utah Vehicle Registration: Complete Guide
Before shaking hands with the seller and agree to buy his car, there are things you can do to protect your rights and interests. Make sure you know exactly what you are going to pay for with your hard earned money. Look up the VIN of the vehicle to get a history check. Checking the vehicle history report will help make sure you are not buying a stolen vehicle nor has it ever encountered any accident that would have caused irreversible damage to the car.
Utah vehicle registration is not a difficult process. It can be done with so much ease and convenience if you do it in accordance with this guideline. Dealers will make life easier for you as registration of the car you bought, whether brand new or second hand, will be done by them.
You will get your car registration without giving away much of your time. But it wouldn’t be the same way if you purchased a vehicle from a private seller or received a car as a gift from someone. If this is the case, you must register the car yourself with the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Check out all the information you need here at VINCheck.info if you want to:
- replace license plates, decals and registration
- know if you are qualified to register
- register an out-of-state vehicle
- re-register a salvage vehicle
- renew your registration
- transfer vehicle ownership
- change your address on your car registration documents
Utah License Plates
Most vehicles are issued with two license plates to be displayed at the front and rear end of the vehicle. Exceptions to this rule are motorcycles and trailers, which only require one rear license plate. License plates are used for identification purposes and provide law enforcement a means to locate the vehicle owner through DMV records.
Just like in other states, most vehicles are issued with two license plates to be displayed at the front and rear end of the vehicle. This is of course with the exceptions of motorcycles and trailers, which only require one rear license plate. License plates serve as the official and only “name” of the vehicle and shall be indicated in all transaction forms and documents to conveniently identify it. License plates provide law enforcement agencies a means to locate, identify and trail the vehicle owner through DMV records if the need arises.
Replacing License Plates, Decals and Registration
If any of the aforementioned items have been stolen, mutilated, damaged, or lost; it is your responsibility to obtain a replacement. You’ll need to request either by mail or in person at one of the DMV offices.
Here are the items that can be replaced and their corresponding prices:
|Price||What is included|
|$11||New sets of plates, decals and registration|
|$16||New sets of plates, decals and registration|
|$15||New sets of plates, decals and registration|
|$5||Motor Vehicle Decal and Registration|
|$4||Motor Vehicle Registration Only|
To acquire a license plate replacement by mail, present the following items to the address below:
- Written Request
- Registration Certificate Copy
- $4.00 postage (for regular Utah license plates)
- Checks/money orders payable to Utah State Tax Commission (for applicable fees)
Division of Motor Vehicles
Mail and Correspondence
P.O. Box 30412
Salt Lake City, UT 84130
Who are Qualified to Register Vehicle?
You may be considered an official resident of Utah and be required to register your car if:
- You lived in Utah for a year, even if absent for an extended period
- You have spent 183 or more days in Utah than any other state
- You have a place of residence in Utah and has spent more days in it than other states
- You are employed in Utah
- You operate a business in Utah
- You have an active Utah driver’s license
After establishing residency, a person has 60 days to register his or her vehicle.
Utah Vehicle Registration Exemption
The following nonresidents may keep their valid out-of-state registration:
- Full-time college/university students in Utah
- Military personnel assigned in Utah
Military Vehicle Registration in Utah
Military personnel who are also residents of Utah but deployed to a location outside the state may qualify for safety/emissions inspection and property tax if they wish to maintain their Utah registration.
Submit the required documentation to the local county assessor to get a tax exemption.
Fill out the Safety/Emissions Exemption Form (TC-810) if you are located in a county or city that exempts inspection.
General Requirements for Utah Vehicle Registration
Make sure you have all the documents below before you head to the DMV:Current Title
- Current Registration
- Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (may grant new vehicles exemption from inspection)
- Other Ownership Documents (if applicable)
- Vehicle Identification Number Inspection Form TC-661 (VIN Check)
- Emission Test Certificate of Compliance
- Emission Testing Exception Form TC-820 (for intercounty emissions differences)
- Safety & Emissions Inspection (if applicable)
- Leasing company or lienholder information (if applicable)
- Payment for applicable fees (varies)
You may procure a temporary permit if you need to transfer an unregistered vehicle. Depending on the county, inspection fees may range between $20 and $30.
What Vehicles are Generally Excepted from Inspection?
- New vehicles
- Vehicles with a model year of 1967 and older
How to Register an Out-of-State or Non-US Vehicle in Utah
If you are a Utah resident and acquire a new car, truck, or motorcycle from another state, it must be certified to meet Utah smog laws to be registered in the state. This includes certain types of motor vehicles. The DMV cannot accept an application of a vehicle that does not qualify for registration
Anyone who brings an imported vehicle into Utah or purchases an imported vehicle while in Utah should be aware that some vehicles cannot be registered in Utah or in the US. Make sure to check first if your vehicle can be registered in Utah or in the US before importing the vehicle.
Registering a Salvage Vehicle in Utah
A salvage vehicle refers to any vehicle that suffered severe damages, which, as a result, any repair becomes uneconomical as the cost exceeds the vehicle’s market value. A vehicle may also be considered ‘salvage’ if its insurer declared it a ‘total loss’.
This also means that the vehicle may not be operated within the state unless restored to working condition. Only when the DMV grants a ‘rebuilt’ title can a restored vehicle be deemed roadworthy again.
Utah sellers who sell used vehicles with ‘salvage’ or ‘rebuilt’ titles must inform prospective customers about its condition through a written notice (TC-814) prior to negotiation.
Vehicle Registration Renewal in Utah
Utah vehicle registration must be renewed every year or so. The DMV will send you a vehicle registration renewal notice prior to your vehicle registration’s expiration date.
You must renew your vehicle registration in person at the local DMV office if your renewal notice directs you to or if you owe any delinquency fees or unpaid traffic tickets. Make sure you have a stable internet connection and an active credit/debit card for the fees.
Alternatively, you may also request an online renewal if you can supply details on:
- License Plate
In lieu of the PIN, you may provide these details:
- Last Name
- Five-Digit Zip Code
- License Plate
- VIN (last 8 digits)
How Do I Change My Registration Address with Utah DMV?
Law states that you must inform the DMV when changing your address. There is no charge to change your address, and you may notify DMV by any of the following ways:
- Complete your address change online.
- Call 801-297-7780 to request a change of address. It may take days for them to process the request.
- Visit any DMV office, then request a change of address with a representative.
What You Need When Transferring Vehicle Ownership
- Original Title Certificate
- Duplicate Title Application Form TC-123 (alternative to title certificate)
- Utah Title Application Form TC-656 (for new owners)
- Safety and/or Emissions Inspection Certificates (if applicable)
- Other Ownership Documents (if applicable)
- Lien Release (if applicable)
- Payment for applicable fees (varies)
Other requirements may be demanded if the vehicle is leased:
- Power of Attorney (from the lessor)
- Billing Statement
- Utah Sales Tax Number
The requirements apply regardless of the relation between transferor and transferee. Both parties must provide their signatures. There must be no inconsistencies among the documents presented, especially the VIN. Don’t forget to cite the purchase price and date of sale.
Vehicle Registration Fees in Utah
Utah DMV charges multiple when you register your vehicle. Each case is different. These fees will be charged during your car purchase if you buy from a deal/er. You must pay the DMV directly if you purchased your vehicle from a private party. The fees that are required from ALL vehicles include:
- $34.50 – $46 – Motorcycle
- $33.50 – $44 – Motor Vehicle with 12,000 pounds or less weight
- $69.50 – Motor Vehicle with a weight between 12,000 – 14,000 pounds
- $19 for every additional 2,000 pounds beyond the 14,000 pounds limit
- $31 – Trailer or Semitrailer with over 750 pounds of weight
- $28.50 – Trailer or Semitrailer with less than 750 pounds of weight
- $45 – Vintage Vehicle not exceeding 40 years old
- $40 – Vintage Vehicle that is 40 years old and older
Year of registration:
- $46.50/$60 – 2019 (electric vehicle)
- $7.50/$10 – 2019 (hybrid electric vehicle)
- $20/$26 – 2019 (plug-in hybrid electric vehicle)
- $69.75/$90 – 2020 (electric vehicle)
- $11.25/$15 – 2020 (hybrid electric vehicle)
- $30/$39 – 2020 (plug-in hybrid electric vehicle)
- $93/$120 – 2021 (electric vehicle)
- $15/$20 – 2021 (hybrid electric vehicle)
- $40/$52 – 2021 (plug-in electric vehicle)
- Passenger Vehicle
- $150 – Less than 3 years old
- $110 – Less than 6 years old
- $80 – Less than 9 years old
- $50 – Less than 12 years old
- $10 – 12 or more years
- Small Car
- $25 – Less than 3 years old
- $15 – Less than 6 years old
- $10 – 6 or more years