Wyoming License Plate Lookup
When buying a used vehicle in Wyoming, make sure to check the vehicle history report to see accident and repair records or learn information about previous owners. You may also get vehicle records through a License Plate Registration Search by filling up MV-220 Title Search form. A payment of $5 is required for each search made.
VinCheck.info offers free license plate lookup that will reveal past ownership, title information, liens, odometer reading and salvage records. Search license plates registered in the state of Wyoming:
Enter a Wyoming License Plate
Wyoming License Plates & Placards
Under state law two license plates are required to be issued for most cars, trucks, and vans. Motorcycles and trailers requires only 1 license plate.
Wyoming law requires the license plate design to change every 8 years, and the new design to be readily distinguishable from the previous design.
In case of lost, damaged or mutilated plates, a new or duplicate license plate and registration certificate will be issued by the County Treasurer. Damaged or mutilated license plates must be surrendered to the County Treasurer when you receive your new license plates.
Types of Wyoming License Plates
The following special license plates are processed by WYDOT in conjunction with the county treasurers’ offices. Some of these plates require a county treasurer to approve them prior to submitting the application to WYDOT. In addition, some of the specialty plates require an extra fee to be remitted with the application.
- Prestige Plates
- Radio Amateur
- Former POW
- Pearl Harbor Survivor
- Disabled Veteran
- National Guard
- Purple Heart Recipient
- University of Wyoming
- Veteran Plates
- Embossed Plates
- Gold Star Plates
- Choice Disabled Veteran Plates
The following plates are issued through WYDOT-Motor Vehicles Services only:
The Wyoming Department of Transportation issues personalized plates. Application form can be picked up at any County Treasurer’s Office or you can order online for your personalized plate. combinations of letters and numbers. Due to the numbering system, the state began using with the 2001 series plates, personalized plates having a combination of numbers and letters that begin with a number are not allowed.
Transferring of License Plates in Wyoming
If you want to transfer your license plate number you will be required to bring the license plate in if you are transferring from a different type of vehicle (i.e., from a car to a truck, truck to a motorcycle).
Titling Requirements and Procedure in Wyoming
Residents of Wyoming may register their vehicles in any Wyoming county. However, the county that collects the fees keeps and distributes the money to the taxing entities in their county. Therefore, residents are encouraged to register vehicles in the local county treasurer office where they reside.
A Wyoming title is required to get Wyoming plates, or a current and valid out-of-state registration. Wyoming Titles can be obtained from the County Clerk Office
More Resources for Wyoming Drivers:
- Applying for a Wyoming Driver License
- Wyoming Vehicle Registrations
- Wyoming Specialty Plates
- Wyoming Vehicle Titles and Lien Filings
- Wyoming Vehicle Registration Fee Calculator
- Wyoming Driver Manuals
Buying a used car in Wyoming? Don’t make a costly mistake. Run a Free License Plate Lookup for your Wyoming-registered vehicle!
- Check for accidents. Every year, approximately 6.0 million automobile accidents are reported by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
- Check for title brands. Flood, hail-damage, and salvage titles are examples of critical title brands.
- Check for special purpose designations, including taxi-use, rental-use, or police-use.
- Check for thefts. Lookup a VIN to check for an active theft or previously recovered theft record.
Run a Free Wyoming License Plate Lookup to uncover the full-story of your Wyoming-registered vehicle.
Enter a Wyoming License Plate