Texas License Plate Lookup
Getting a free vehicle history for your car in Texas has never been easier! You can either search by VIN or lookup by license plate number. Running a license plate lookup is a great alternative to obtain a vehicle information when the VIN is not readily available.
Enter a Texas license plate below to lookup your vehicle for free. You can get a complete report in seconds:
VinCheck.info offers free license plate lookup. Using your Texas license plate, you can get a complete vehicle report at no cost. Every report contains:
- Market Value
- Vehicle Specifications
- Equipment Details
- Fuel Efficiency
- Safety Rating
- Inspection Checklist
- Current Warranty
- NMVTIS Report
Title and Vehicle Registration in Texas
All vehicles operated on Texas highways must be registered in the owner’s county of residency. When you buy a new car, you must register it within 30 days of purchase. New residents must also register their out of state of vehicles. They must do so within 30 days after establishing residency
You must register your vehicle in the county where you currently live. After completing registration process, a registration sticker will be issued that must be displayed on the vehicle’s windshield or on the rear license plate of a motorcycle or moped.
How To Register a Vehicle in Texas?
Bring the following to your local county tax office to transfer ownership:
- Signed title and completed Application for Texas Title from the seller.
- Release of lien and/or power of attorney (if applicable).
- Proof of paid sales tax and car insurance (if purchasing a car from another state)
- Payment for fees and taxes.
For out-of-state vehicles, you must obtain the following prior to registration:
- Texas vehicle inspection report
- Verification of the vehicle identification number (VIN)
How much does it cost to transfer a vehicle title in Texas?
- Title fee – $33
- Transfer fee – $2.50
- Motor vehicle sales tax – 6.25 percent on the purchase price or standard presumptive value (SPV), whichever is the highest value.
Types of Texas License Plates
- Antique, Classic & Custom Vehicle/Street Rod
- Colleges and Universities
- High Schools
- Military & Veterans
- Other Vehicle Types
Transferring Texas License Plates
Texas license plates can be transferred from vehicle to another vehicle you own. Your local county tax assessor-collector’s office will issue a new registration sticker for your vehicle. Remove the registration sticker on your old vehicle when you detach the plates.
How long are Texas license plates good for?
Texas license plates are good for 7 years. As of November 1, 2016, the State of Texas will no longer automatically replace your plates after 7 years. However, you may still apply at your county tax office for replacement plates if the license plate is lost or damaged.
Do you have to have a license plate on the front of your car in Texas?
Yes, Texas law requires that a vehicle displays two plates, a front and rear license plate.
More Resources for Texas Drivers:
- Texas Driver’s License & ID
- Texas Vehicle Registration
- Texas License Plates Information
- Buying or Selling a Vehicle in Texas
- Texas Vehicle Registration Fees
- Texas Driver Handbook
Buying a used car in Texas? Don’t make a costly mistake. Run a Free License Plate Lookup for your Texas-registered vehicle!
- Check for accidents. Every year, approximately 6.0 million automobile accidents are reported by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
- Check for title brands. Flood, hail-damage, and salvage titles are examples of critical title brands.
- Check for special purpose designations, including taxi-use, rental-use, or police-use.
- Check for thefts. Lookup a VIN to check for an active theft or previously recovered theft record.
Run a Free Texas License Plate Lookup to uncover the full-story of your Texas-registered vehicle.