Louisiana Vehicle Registration

Louisiana Vehicle Registration: Complete Guide

Louisiana Vehicle RegistrationNew or used vehicles should be registered and must have appropriate license plates. Make sure to get a vehicle history report if you are buying a used car. It will indicate if it has been reported as stolen, flooded, involved in an accident, or other issues.

Run a Free Vehicle Report:

Louisiana law requires vehicle owners to register their vehicles at the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV).

Check out all the information you need here at VINCheck.info if you want to:

How to Register your Vehicle as a New Louisiana Resident

Louisiana requires all new residents to register their vehicles within 30 days of establishing residency at their local Louisiana OMV office.

  • Your vehicle must pass a state-mandated safety inspection first.
  • Some parishes in Louisiana also require emissions inspections. Confirm this with your nearest LA OMV office.
  • You should also have purchased Louisiana car insurance before registering your vehicle.
  • You need to present the following documents:
    • A completed Vehicle Application form
    • A current and valid LA driver’s license
    • Proof of car insurance

How to Register an Out-of-State Vehicle in Louisiana

Registering an out-of-state vehicle in Louisiana is very similar to the process described above. It should also be completed within 30 days of moving to the state. Bear in mind that a “use tax” is required to be paid for all vehicles registered in Louisiana.

However, you may be able to claim credit if you have already paid sales tax in your previous state. To make sure, contact your local OMV office.

How to Re-register a Salvaged Vehicle in Louisiana

The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles will deem your vehicle a “total loss” if repairing it will cost 75% or more of its fair market value. What if you decide to keep the vehicle after the insurance company declares it a total loss?  You will have 30 days from the day of the claim settlement to apply for a “salvaged” title. Next, you must apply for a “reconstructed” title and re-register your vehicle. Make sure that you or an auto rebuilder have repaired the vehicle to meet the state’s safety standards first.

Submit the following to your local OMV:

  • A list of parts that were reconstructed or replaced during the restoration or repair of the vehicle. For each major component, you should provide the VIN number of the vehicle(s) from which the part or parts were taken.
    • The date you purchased each part.
    • You should also provide the name and contact details of the person from which these parts were purchased.
  • A bill of sale for all major components that were used in the restoration or rebuilding of the vehicle. You can submit a notarized affidavit if you cannot submit a bill of sale or receipts from the purchases.

Note: the Affidavit of Physical Inspection will be completed and given to you by the inspector. You should first set up an inspection appointment with your local Louisiana State Police (LSP) troop. A certified law enforcement officer will check your vehicle, the VIN, and the major component parts used to rebuild your vehicle.

How Do I Change My Address with Louisiana DMV?

If you’re moving to a new address within the State of Louisiana, you must provide notification to the OMV within 10 days. You should visit the OMV office in person and bring your valid LA driver’s license or ID card, as well as proof of auto insurance.

If you’re moving to a new address within Louisiana, you must notify the OMV within 10 days. Bring these to the OMV office: valid LA driver’s license or ID card and  proof of auto insurance.

To update your address by mail, send a written request with:

  • your LA driver’s license number
  • your phone number
  • your street address
  • cashier’s check or money order

Send them by mail to:

Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896

  • Your LA driver’s license number
  • Your phone number
  • Your street address

How to Transfer a Vehicle Between Family Members

If you’re selling your vehicle to a family member, both you and the family member should follow the same process as buying from a private seller. The buyer is responsible for completing the auto title transfer within 40 days of purchase. The following should be presented to your local OMV office:

  • A completed Vehicle Application
  • The current certificate of title that should be assigned to the buyer and duly notarized.
  • A notarized bill of sale
  • If the car is less than 10 years old, include an Odometer Disclosure Statement
  • A copy of your valid LA driver’s license
  • Proof of auto insurance in Louisiana

If the vehicle has been given as a gift, you may be required to submit a completed and notarized Act of Donation of a Movable. The document should have the signatures of both the donor and recipient. To confirm, it is recommended to contact your local OMV office.

Military Vehicle Registration in Louisiana

If you are a non-resident military personnel stationed in Louisiana, you may register your vehicle and follow the same registration process as permanent residents.

Current active military members are exempted from use tax on vehicles when moving to Louisiana, provided that you can prove you have paid sales tax on your vehicle in the previous state. You will need to provide a copy of your military ID, enlistment order, or a letter from your Commanding officer verifying you are in active duty.

Vehicle Registration Renewal in Louisiana

Vehicle registrations in Louisiana must be renewed every 2 years. You may renew your registration online, by mail, or in person. Several weeks before your expiration date you should receive a renewal notice from the Office of Motor Vehicles which contain the following information:

  • License plate number
  • VIN
  • Renewal fee
  • Expiration date
  • Renewal ID number

How to Renew Your Louisiana Vehicle Registration in Person

To renew your registration in person at your local Louisiana OMV office, you will need the following:

  • Renewal notice
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Driver’s license
  • Safety inspection sticker
  • Payment for renewal fee

How to Renew Your Louisiana Vehicle Registration Online

An easy way to renew your registration online is through the OMV Expresslane. Here is the process:

  • Step 1    – Enter Vehicle Information and Confirm Record
  • Step 2    – Verify Address
  • Step 3    – Authorize Payment of the Fee
  • Step 4    – View and Print Your Receipt

How to Renew Your Louisiana Vehicle Registration by Mail

To renew your registration thru mail, you must have a renewal notice to renew by mail.

  • Make sure the information on the renewal notice is accurate.
  • Include a copy of your driver’s license.
  • Write a check for payment of renewal fees.

Mail it to the address below:

Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Louisiana Vehicle Registration Fees

Title Fee – $68.50
Handling Fee – $8.00
State Sales Tax – 4% of the vehicle’s assessed value
Motorcycle License Plate – $12.00
Automobile License Plate Fee – based on the selling price of the vehicle (Current rate is .1% of the value of the vehicle per year, with a minimum base of $10,000)