Maine Vehicle Registration

Maine Vehicle Registration: Complete Guide

Maine is one of the smaller states with a population of only 1.14 million. Although it is the most northeastern state known for its rocky coastline, car ownership in Maine is generally walking in fine smooth sand.

There is nothing difficult in buying a car in Maine. But just like in any other place in the world, buyers are still encouraged to be cautious of red flags and to exercise due diligence. You can only be sure if you know exactly the car that you are buying.

The only key to this is to look up the VIN and get a vivid history of the car that you intend to buy. This is the only source of vital information as to what the vehicle went through from one owner to another. If there is any issue with the car, it would be revealed by going over the car’s historical narratives.

Run a Free Vehicle Report:

Just like in most states, it is of legal importance that you register your car with the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). If you bought your car from the dealer, they will give you the car’s registration in a silver platter at a higher cost. The dealer will do all the registration works for you.

However, it is a different story if you bought your car from a private seller. If this is the case, you really have to register the car yourself. But don’t be stressed. Relax. We assure you that the process is so simple and easy.

First and foremost, you need to check all the information relative to the car here at VINCheck.info if you want to do any of the following;

Maine License Plates

With the exception of trailers and motorcycles, the law requires that all vehicles must have two license plates. One to be installed in front and the other at the rear of the car. All cars are identified through their license plates.

In all transactions and documentation relative to the car, the license plate number must be indicated. Law enforcement agencies trace the ownership of the car through its license plate number.

The law also requires that license plates be current and up to date. This can be determined by the registration stickers attached to it. If it is not updated, it follows that the car’s registration is expired. Late or non-registration has corresponding penalties.

Other License Plates

Car owners may want their plates to be different from the rest. If they request for vanity plates, they need to pay $25 plus the regular registration fee. And for each renewal :

  • Additional $20 (1st year)
  • Additional $15 (the next year and after)

If you are interested, you may order and/or check available formats/styles online.

For PWDs who qualify for Maine Disability Plates, they must present a physician’s certification when applying.

Replacement License Plates

If your license plates have been stolen, mutilated, damaged, or lost; you are required to obtain a replacement. You’ll need to submit an Application for Lost Plates Form (MV-9) either by mail or in person at one of the BMV/town offices.

How to Register a Vehicle as a New Maine Resident

Visit the nearest town office to register a vehicle in Maine. The assigned agent may ask some or all of these:

  • Current Title (for 1995 and up models)
  • Out-of-state Registration
  • Current Valid Insurance Card
  • Maine Title Application Form
  • Yearly Excise Tax (varies between $4 and $24 per $1,000 of value)
  • Payment for applicable fees

How to Register an Out-of-state Vehicle in Maine?

Step 1: Establish residency in Maine

Step 2: Process the paperwork within the 30-day grace period after becoming resident

Step 3: Provide/satisfy all or some requirements below:

  • Out-of-state Title (1995 and newer models)
  • Out-of-state Registration
  • Valid Insurance Documentation (ID card, policy and/or binder)
  • White & Yellow Copies of the following:
    • Registration Application
    • Excise Tax Receipt
  • $33 Title Application Fee (for 1995 model and up)
  • Payment for applicable title and registration fees
  • Lienholder Name (if there is a lien)
  • Lienholder Mailing Address (if there is a lien)
  • Maine Use Tax Form (if applicable)
  • Maine Vehicle Inspection (if applicable)

It should be top of your mind that your vehicle must undergo inspection and its excise tax be paid yearly. Failure to comply on time may result in either suspension or revocation of your registration aside from penalties that may be imposed.

How to Register a Passenger Vehicle Sold by a Maine Dealer?

Step 1: Visit the local town office, preferably near your place of residence.

*if the town office does not have a registration program, go to a BMV branch instead.

Step 2: Pay the excise tax with an official representative

Step 3: Present the requirements the BMV may demand from you:

  • Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price Sticker/Monroney Label (if requested)
  • Bill of Sale or equivalent
  • Blue Title Application (1995 model and up)
  • Proof of Valid Insurance (ID card, policy or binder)
  • White & Yellow Copies of the files below:
    • Registration Application
    • Excise Tax Receipt
  • Payment for applicable fees

How to Register a Privately Sold Vehicle?

Step 1: Visit the local town office, preferably near your place of residence.

*if the town office does not have a registration program, go to a BMV branch instead.

Step 2: Pay the excise tax with an authorized BMV or town office agent

Step 3: Fulfill the requirements that might be needed for registration:

  • Signed Bill of Sale or equivalent
  • Current Title (for 1995 model and up), including;
    • The previous owner’s signature indicating ownership transfer
  • Proof of Valid Insurance (ID card, policy or binder)
  • White & Yellow Copies of these items:
    • Registration Application
    • Excise Tax Receipt
  • 5.5% Maine Sales Tax (based on purchase price)
  • $33 Title Application Fee (for 1995 model and up)
  • Payment for applicable fees

Military Vehicle Registration in Maine

Military personnel who are not residents may keep their registration from their home state if they were assigned to Maine. The same works for Maine residents working out of state. They must keep their vehicle papers up to date for the Maine BMV to permit their operation.

Maine Vehicle Registration Renewal

Contact your local town office if there is an available online system for renewal. Otherwise, you need to follow the regular procedure in renewing registration.

Step 1: Visit the local town office, preferably near your place of residence.

*if the town office does not have a registration program, go to a BMV branch instead.

Step 2: Pay the excise tax with an authorized town office or BMV agent

Step 3: As demanded by the registration agency, provide these requirements:

  • Proof of Valid Insurance (ID card, policy or binder)
  • White & Yellow Copies of the following:
    • Registration Application
    • Excise Tax Receipt
  • Payment for applicable fees

Owners will not be notified by the BMV regarding expiration. If it is up to them to renew the vehicle personally and be mindful of the due date.

Required Vehicle Insurance in Maine

This is the minimum insurance coverage required by law to drive in the state:

(1) Liability:

  • $50,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $100,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 for property damage

or

  • a $125,000 worth of Combined Single Limit coverage

(2) Medical Payments:

  • $2,000 or more per person

(3) Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist

  • $50,000 per person
  • $100,000 per accident

Registering a Salvage-titled Vehicle in Maine

A Salvage Title Certificate can be issued by the Secretary of State under these conditions:

  • If the written declaration of ‘total loss’ is submitted by either the insurer or the owner
  • If the title certificate is voluntarily given up by the owner

A vehicle may qualify for a Salvage title upon meeting these criteria:

  • The vehicle, as a whole, has no value other than its parts
  • A vehicle is stipulated to be sold only for its parts
  • Previously-issued Salvage title, either out-of-state or from Maine.

Whichever of the two parties apply for a salvage title, it must be done within 30 days of the settlement of an insurance claim.

The owner may either keep the salvage vehicle or it will be taken by the insurer. It will depend on the arrangement made by the involved parties.

If for some reason, the vehicle has been restored to a condition necessary for proper and safe driving, the unit may qualify for a Rebuilt/Repaired title.

A Rebuilt/Repaired title may also be issued when:

  • There were two or more vehicles with different frames joined together
  • There were five or more component parts replaced on a vehicle

Fulfill the listed requirements below when registering a salvage car:

    • Proper VIN Number Inspection
    • Proper Inspection of Vehicle Replacement Parts’ Serial Number(s)
    • Associated Purchase Receipt(s)
    • Title Certificate(s)
    • Salvage Certificate(s)
  • Repairer/rebuilder disclosure paper(s)

Vehicle Registration Fees in Maine

Below are the non-exhaustive list of registration fees based on the type of plate selected:

Plate TypeFeePlate TypeFee
#1Agriculture Commercial$35 – $1234#20County SheriffNo Fee
#2Agriculture Farm$21 – $469#21Custom/Modified Vehicle$35
#3Agriculture Passenger$35#22Disability Special Veteran$35/$37
#4Emergency/Coach$35/$70#23Disabled VeteranNo Fee
#5Apportioned Vehicles$35 – $1234#24Disability$35
#6Antique Auto$30#25Emergency Medical Services$35/$37
#7Autocycle$21#26Firefighter$35/$37
#8Animal Welfare$35#27Farm$21 – $469
#9Black Bear$35/$37#28Gold Star Family$35
#10Breast Cancer$35/$37#29Horseless Carriage$30
#11Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital$35/$37#30Island Use$4
#12Bus$35/$70#31Lobster$35/$37
#13Conservation Commercial$35 – $1234#32Lobster Commercial$35 – $1234
#14Conservation Disability$35#33Low Speed Vehicle$25
#15MunicipalNo Fee#34Motorcycle$21
#16Conservation Trailer$10.50/$20#35Motor Home$21 – $469
#17Combination$35#36Municipal MotorcycleNo Fee
#18Commercial$35 – $1234#37Medal of HonorNo Fee
#19Conservation (Loon)$35#38Moped$9

 

Plate TypeFeePlate TypeFee
#39Antique Motorcycle$15#54Trailer (up to 2,000 lbs registered weight)$10.50/$21
#40Disability Motorcycle$21#55Trailer (2,000 lbs. and over registered weight)$20/$40
#41Passenger$35#56Tractor$5/$20
#42Dune Buggy$7/$35#57Special Mobile Equipment$21 – $712
#43Stock Car$7/$35#58Support Your Troops$35/$37
#44Rental Vehicle$70#59Truck Tractor$21 – $712
#45Purple HeartNo Fee#60Hire$70
#46Purple Heart MotorcycleNo Fee#61University of Maine System$35
#47Prisoner of WarNo Fee#62Special Veteran Motorcycle$21
#48Pearl Harbor SurvivorNo Fee#63Special Veteran$35/$37
#49Conservation Motor Home$21 – $469Disabled Veteran Parking PlateNo Fee
#50Special Equipment$10/$15/$20Wabanaki$35
#51Street Rod$30Disability Motor Home$21 – $469
#52StateNo FeeDisabled Veteran MotorcycleNo Fee
#53Sportsman$35/$37