Idaho Vehicle Registration

Idaho Vehicle Registration: Complete Guide

Idaho Vehicle RegistrationIf you are buying a new or used vehicle, you need to get the ownership of the vehicle transferred on your name. A car should be registered before it can be driven. Before you buy a used car, find out as much as you can about the car’s history and maintenance record.

Run a Free Vehicle Report:

All vehicles operated on public highways must be titled and registered through the Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). As the new owner of a vehicle, Idaho law requires you to title a vehicle within 30 days after the purchase date.

Check out all the information you need here at VINCheck.info if you want to:

How to Register your Vehicle as a New Idaho Resident

If you are a new resident of Idaho, you must register and title your vehicle in person within 90 days of establishing residency. The vehicle must be titled first before it can be registered. Go to a county Assessor’s DMV office and bring the following:

  • Current title and registration.
  • Proof of auto insurance that meets the minimum coverage.
    • $25,000 for injury or death of one person
    • $50,000 for injury or death of two or more
    • $15,000 for destruction of property
  • Personal identification.
  • Payment for fees and taxes (cash or check)

How to Register an Out-of-State Vehicle in Idaho

If you moved to Idaho from another state, you’ll need to register your out-of-state car with the Idaho DMV within 90 days of establishing a residence in the state. For out of state vehicles registering for the first time in Idaho, you must bring the vehicle to your county Assessor’s DMV office for a VIN inspection. You also need to provide the following:

How to Re-register a Salvaged Vehicle in Idaho

A salvage vehicle is any vehicle which has been damaged to the extent that would cost more money to repair or rebuild it than what it’s worth. These cars cannot be registered and cannot be legally driven.

When applying for an Idaho salvage title, you need to submit:

Mail the above items to:

Idaho Transportation Department
Attn: Vehicle Services Section
Salvage Desk
P.O. Box 34
Boise, ID 83731

How Do I Change My Address with Idaho DMV?

If you move to a new address in Idaho, you must report the change of address to the Idaho DMV within 30 days of moving. You need to fill out an Idaho Change of Address Request form and submit the form by mail, fax, e-mail, or in person at your local DMV office.

Submission of this form will only change your address within the DMV database and it will not change the address on your current driver’s license or ID card.

How to Transfer a Vehicle Between Family Members

To transfer a vehicle title to a family member, you’ll need the following:

Military Vehicle Registration in Idaho

Current active military members stationed in Idaho can title, register and renew their vehicles in the county where they are assigned.

Military personnel who are temporarily in another state may request titles and registrations for their vehicles through the mail.

Vehicle Registration Renewal in Idaho

You must renew your vehicle registration every year with the Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You may renew your registration online or in person. You will receive a notification postcard reminding you of your Idaho tag renewal.

How to Renew Your Idaho Vehicle Registration in Person

To renew your registration in person you will need to bring the following to a county Assessor’s DMV office:

  • Driver’s license or identification card
  • Your renewal postcard.
  • Payment for renewal fees. (Your exact vehicle registration fee will be provided on your renewal postcard.)

How to Renew Your Idaho Vehicle Registration Online

To renew your registration online, go here. You will need the following:

  • License plate number
  • Driver’s license or identification card
  • Your renewal postcard.
  • A Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express credit/debit card & its billing address

Idaho Vehicle Registration Fees

Passenger vehicles (pickup trucks, neighborhood electric vehicles, or other motor vehicles with a maximum gross weight 8,000 pounds or less)

  • 1 to 2 years old – $69
  • 3 to 6 years old – $57
  • 7 or more years old – $45
    • Electric Vehicles: Add $140 per year (Neighborhood electric vehicles not included)
    • Plug-In Hybrid Vehicles: Add $75 dollars per year

Commercial vehicles (interstate buses, trucks)

  • Gross weight of 8,001 to 16,000 – $73.00
  • Gross weight of 16,001 to 26,000 – $168.40
  • Gross weight of 26,001 to 30,000 – $248.80
  • Gross weight of 30,001 to 40,000 – $316.60
  • Gross weight of 40,001 to 50,000 – $385.00
  • Gross weight of 50,001 to 60,000 – $540.40
  • Gross weight of 60,001 or more – contact Motor Carrier Services at: cvs@itd.idaho.gov

Non-Commercial vehicles and Farm Trucks

  • Gross weight of 8,001 to 16,000 – $73.00
  • Gross weight of 16,001 to 26,000 – $86.08
  • Gross weight of 26,001 to 30,000 – $116.68
  • Gross weight of 30,001 to 40,000 – $155.08
  • Gross weight of 40,001 to 50,000 – $213.28
  • Gross weight of 50,001 to 60,000 – $336.88
  • Gross weight of 60,001 or more – contact Motor Carrier Services at: cvs@itd.idaho.gov

School Buses – $24.00

Motorcycles – $25.00